General / Skincare

Current Skincare Favorites!

Hello Beautyowls!

I found myself experimenting with some alternative skincare products this month since I somehow -magically- managed to simultaneously empty most of my usual skincare items –don’t you love that when that happens- I figured that this would be an excellent opportunity to share with you some of these new items that I added to my routine and tell you what I like and don’t like as much about them. Just keep on reading to find out which ones those are!

Product Nr.1 The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil 

IMG_3889

My skin started totally misbehaving this month… the season change is usually a trigger for imperfections and texture appearing. To counteract and keep the situation -as much as possible- contained, I invested in the Tea Tree Oil from The Body Shop which is known for it’s antibacterial and anti-inflammatory benefits.

Although the instructions say that one could use this product all over the face, I can see how it might be a bit too strong for some sensitive skin types out there. This clear liquid with a thicker consistency smells very strong like Tea Tree (be warned if you are sensitive to strong smells).

Also in my case, I found the solution too strong for my skin and therefore started using it only targeting my areas of concern. This did help to speed up the drying process as well as any further contamination. Just, know that this product needs time to work so use it continuously if you want to see any results.

Product Nr.2 Estée Lauder Revitalizing Supreme+  

img_3885.jpg

Since I ran out of my usual peeling product, I was happy to put this baby to action. The Supreme+ is described as a Global Anti-Aging Instant Refinishing Facial -well I don’t know about that- all I know is that this is a white peeling cream with very fine granules that helps exfoliate and even out the skin. The cream reminds me of the Kate Sommerville Intensive Exfoliating Treatment with the exception that the Estée Lauder one has fewer granules in the formula.

I really enjoy this product, and I use it as a quick exfoliant in the evening while taking a shower. The only drawback is the strong perfume fragrance which I am not a fan of. Thankfully the fragrance doesn’t linger on!

Product Nr.3 Peter Thomas Roth 3% Retinoid Plus 

IMG_3873

Now that the summer is over I figured that it’s about time to reintroduce Retinoid to my skincare regime. I had this product in my cabinet (-unopened of course-) since the beginning of the summer, and I was eager to start using it.  This yellow elixir feels like a smoothg oil, and it doesn’t have any scent. So far, I have been using it for two weeks, every other day, in the evenings, ONLY! (-don’t forget your morning sunscreen if you use retinoids-) and I haven’t experienced any irritation or flakiness. As my skin is gradually getting used to the product I do see the appearance of fine lines getting smoother, as well as, a more even skin tone and an improvement in texture. I love this product and I would highly recommend it!( If you are on the lookout for a product that will gradually help you to a healthier more youthful appearance of your skin then try this one out.

Product Nr.4 Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Concentrate Matrix (A.K.A. Eye Cream)

IMG_3875

(-Why do those things have to have such complex and long names-?) One of the things I have consistently been using since I was a teenager was an eye cream, and I can tell you here and now, that I don’t regret that one bit. So when my usual eye cream finished, I was glad I had this little glass vile to take its place.

This white cream has a thick consistency but absorbs very quickly into the skin. It doesn’t have a noticeable scent, and although it says it is for the night I use it also in the Mornings (-skin doesn’t know what time it is-) The cream doesn’t make my eyelids oily and makeup and eyeshadow do apply nicely on top of it. I love this cream and I would recommend it to the more mature or very dry skin types out there due to it’s thicker consistency. The only drawback I find is the dispenser. Although the glass tip has a cooling effect, I find the distribution of the product uneven and it also makes me wonder how much of the product would go to waste towards the end since I won’t be able to scoop it out?!

Bonus Product Nr.5 The Body Shop Vitamin C Energising Face Mist

IMG_3901

In the mornings my skincare regime is fast and targeted. Appart from washing moisturizing and using my sunscreen I’ve gotten into the habit lately of using a regenerating and refreshing face mist.

I came to love the one from The Body Shop enriched with Vitamin C and a citrusy and refreshing scent that helps not only my skin but wakes me up. I use the mist in between washing my face and moisturizing, and I usually spray it on a cotton pad first and then apply it to my face, neck, and decolletage. So if you would like to have something refreshing and rejuvenating give this mist a try since I found this product to be efficient and affordable.

As always Beautyowls I hope that you’ve found today’s post helpful. If you have any further questions about any of the above-mentioned products, leave me a comment below, I would be glad to help, or if you have tried any of these products let me know your thoughts on them.

Till next time,

xoxo  from Zurich,

K

Like, Follow, Share for more news…

Follow Beautyowls on BLOGLOVIN

*this post contains PR samples

 

 

2 thoughts on “Current Skincare Favorites!

  1. This is a very useful post for people who find it difficult to find out which product suits them the best. You are doing so great with your blog, I’m so surprised I wasn’t updated with it!

    Like

Leave a comment